Głogowski Wins Mythic Championship VII

Mythic Championship VII

The last major event of 2019 is in the books. Piotr Głogowski, who finished second to Andrea Mengucci back in March’s Mythic Invitational, won Mythic Championship VII with Jund Sacrifice. The Magic Pro League member did it in style. Having earned a bye into Day Two through MPL play, Głogowski proceeded to win every one of his matches. He never faltered and never had to claw his way back from the Lower Bracket. Instead he used the combination of Cauldron Familiar, Mayhem Devil, Trail of Crumbs, Witch’s Oven, and the help of Korvold, Fae-Cursed King to bury his opponents under card advantage and cat triggers.

Głogowski’s victory comes in a stack Top 8. Seth Manfield went into Mythic Championship VII with a unique take on Simic Flash. He, Brad Nelson, and Javier Dominguez all were on the build and all three made the Top 8. Andrea Mengucci made the elimination rounds with Simic Ramp and Paulo Vitor Damo da Rosa was alive on Sunday again with Jeskai Fires. In addition to these Magic Pro League members, Chris Kvartek put a bow on an amazing season (piloting Golgari Adventure) and Challenger Miguel da Cruz Simoes made the most of his invite with Jund Sacrifce.

The finals pitted Nelson against Głogowski. As has been the case so often this Standard season, Nissa, Who Shakes the World and Gilded Goose were key players – only this time they were on opposite sides of the battlefield. In the decisive third game Głogowski assembled his engine and managed to keep two copies of Nissa from entering the battlefield. On the penultimate turn, Nelson faced defeat and let the rope burn, prompting a chuckle from his opponent. And with that, Głogowski became a Mythic Champion.

Piotr Głogowski

Jund Sacrifice, Mythic Championship VII Champion

4 Blood Crypt
4 Overgrown Tomb
4 Stomping Ground
2 Swamp (339)
1 Mountain (343)
5 Forest (347)
3 Fabled Passage
2 Castle Lochthwain
2 Korvold, Fae-Cursed King - Foil - Brawl Deck Exclusive
2 Massacre Girl
2 Thrashing Brontodon
4 Cauldron Familiar
3 Beanstalk Giant/Fertile Footsteps
2 Muderous Rider
4 Mayhem Devil
4 Gilded Goose
4 Casualties of War
4 Witch's Oven
4 Trail of Crumbs

1 Massacre Girl
1 Korvold, Fae-Cursed King - Foil - Brawl Deck Exclusive
4 Duress
2 Wicked Wolf
1 Murderous Rider/Swift End
2 Deathless Knight
1 Thrashing Brontodon
3 Lovestruck Beast/Heart's Desire - Showcase




2019 World Championship

Mythic Championship VII also finalized the field at the 2019 World Championship. The tournament, taking place February 14-16, 2020 in Honolulu, Hawaii, will be played on Arena. Głogowski earned an invite with his victory this weekend.  Javier Dominguez will be there as the reigning World Champion. He’ll be joined by Autumn Burchett, Eli Loveman, Thoralf Severin, Ondrej Strasky, Matias Leveratto, Jean-Emmanuel Depraz as Mythic Champions. The Magic Pro League members who earned a spot in Hawaii are Andrea Mengucci, Marcio Carvalho, Paulo Vitor Damo da Rosa, and Seth Manfield. The final four slots are for Challengers and they are: Raphael Levy, Sebastian Pozzo, Chris Kvartek, and Gabriel Nassif.

Magic Pro League and Rivals League

The 2020 Magic Pro League invites are set as well. The following players will be invited to the MPL:

  • Brian Braun-Duin
  • Autumn Burchett
  • Marcio Carvalho
  • Andrew Cuneo
  • Paulo Vitor Damo da Rosa
  • Jean-Emmanuel Depraz
  • Javier Dominguez
  • Reid Duke
  • Piotr Głogowski
  • William Jensen
  • Martin Juza
  • Seth Manfield
  • Andrea Mengucci
  • Brad Nelson
  • Carlos Romao
  • Rei Sato
  • Sharhar Shenhar
  • Lee Shi Tian
  • Shota Yasooka
  • Ken Yukuhiro
  • Chris Kvartek
  • Raphael Levy
  • Gabriel Nassif
  • Ondrej Strasky

The following players will receive an invite to the Rivals League. There will also be four discretionary invites awarded.

  • Lucas Esper Berthoud
  • Jessica Estephan
  • Eric Froehlich
  • Christian Hauck
  • Alexander Hayne
  • Grzegorz Kowalski
  • Janne Mikkonen
  • Matthew Nass
  • John Rolf
  • Luis Salvatto
  • Mike Sigrist
  • Ben Stark
  • Kai Budde
  • Stanislav Cifka
  • Louis Deltour
  • Kenji Egashira
  • Simon Gortzen
  • Eli Kassis
  • Matias Leveratto
  • No Ah Ma
  • Theo Moutier
  • Greg Orange
  • Sebastian Pozzo
  • Luis Scott-Vargas
  • Thoralf Severin
  • Miguel da Cruz Simoes
  • Matthew Sperling
  • Perter Yeh

Grand Prix Brisbane

As if that wasn’t enough, this weekend also saw a Standard Grand Prix at MagicFest Brisbane. Kyle Gibson, from Melbourne, Australia, took down the main event with his take on Jeskai Fires. Also in the Top 8 – Jason Chung and recent Rivals League invitee Peter Yeh.

Jeskai Fires

Kyle Gibson, Winner Grand Prix Brisbane

3 Castle Vantress
3 Fabled Passage
4 Hallowed Fountain
2 Sacred Foundry
4 Steam Vents
3 Temple of Epiphany
2 Island
2 Mountain
1 Plains
3 Temple of Triumph
2 Bonecrusher Giant/Stomp
4 Sphinx of Foresight
4 Cavalier of Flame
3 Cavalier of Gales
2 Kenrith, the Returned King - Collector Pack Exclusive
4 Teferi, Time Raveler
2 Aether Gust
3 Deafening Clarion
1 Justice Strike
3 Shimmer of Possibility
1 Time Wipe
4 Fires of Invention

1 Aether Gust
1 Deafening Clarion
2 Devout Decree
1 Disenchant
4 Legion Warboss
4 Mystical Dispute
1 Negate
1 Sorcerous Spyglass


Scroll to Top